13 October 2013

Tiny bebbeh socks.

I've been knitting them.

Yeah, that's right, I have now knit FOUR complete items.  I can also comfortably say that I enjoy knitting with handspun luxury blends a whole lot more than I like knitting with commercial wool blends from The Hobster Lobster.  Which is what I'm calling Hobby Lobby now.

This yarn is way cooler.

I just finished making two baby socks (no they don't match).  The first was a hilarious underestimate of the size of my baby's foot, and was made on a trip to Iowa.  We're talking, ribbing didn't make it past the toes, here.  Just kinda...wiggled...hanging off his big toe...  Total fail.

The second was AWESOME and I'd post a picture if my a) phone was on, b) I felt like making a Ravelry entry at the moment, c) both a and b are true.

I'm super passionate today, y'all.

ANYhoo, the second sock actually fits (for now) and is made of merino, bamboo, and silk.  It was one of my many phat fiber samples that has been laying around, this one from The Droll Eclectic.  It's super soft.  I spun it into a fingering weight two ply and LOVED knitting it.  Even when I started over five or six times.  I even had a little left, which is exciting, considering how terrifying working a sock ankle-down is when you have like 30 yards of handspun and no clue how far that will go.

MADE IT.

So yes, socks made.  I need to make more, though.  Which is good, because me with no ongoing projects and only ends to sew in is basically disastrous.


NEVER SEW IN ENDS.

Just...here, if we have to justify it, just say everyone who deserves knit projects from you has probably pissed you off at some point that you just forgot about so give them a finished knit with loose ends and just let them THINK about what they've done wrong.  They'll humbly apologize (or not mention that you gave them an unfinished project) and everybody wins.  You win because you didn't have to sew in ends.  They win because they learned something about themselves.

Possibly that they, too, loathe sewing in ends.



Hey, why don't I make matching socks?  I have a reason for this.  It extends beyond Punky Brewster.  It also extends even beyond the fact that I can't remember the last time I wore matching socks.

See...babies lose socks.  They lose ALL the socks.

If they never matched to begin with I won't notice the loss of my dear handspun hand knit socks.

Plus I never have to knit a sock's mate.

HAHA!

I win.


It's also because I have like fifty 30-yard skeins of handspun from Phat Fiber samples and nothing to do with them, and I think puff blankets are weird and much too long of a project for someone as attention deficit as moi.

Okay, bye.

-Wednesday



Oh, P.S. - adorable sock pattern is here.

No comments:

Post a Comment